President and Chief Executive Officer
Chairman Management Board and Executive Committee

Frans Muller started as President and Chief Executive Officer of Ahold Delhaize on July 1, 2018. Prior to that he was Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Chief Integration Officer since 2016, and Acting Chief Operating Officer for Delhaize America, which operates the Food Lion and Hannaford brands, from October 2016 until January 2018. Before the merger between Ahold and Delhaize, Frans served for three years as President and CEO of Delhaize Group from 2013 to 2016.

Prior to joining Delhaize Group, Frans was with the German retailer Metro AG for more than15 years. He was CEO of Metro Cash & Carry from 2008 and a member of the management board of Metro AG, to which he was appointed in 2006. He first joined Metro AG in 1997 as operations director, and then served as managing director of its Dutch subsidiary, Makro. In 2002, Frans served as a board member of Metro Cash & Carry International and was appointed regional director for Eastern Europe and Russia. From 2004 to 2005, he served as president for Asia Pacific and Russia/Ukraine. In 2005, he was appointed CEO of Metro Group Buying.

Frans started his career at KLM Cargo in 1988 where he served in various management and executive positions in Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Vienna and Singapore. 

Frans is president of the European Retail Round Table and serves on the board of directors of the Food Marketing Institute Inc. and Vlerick Business School. He is a board member of the Consumer Goods Forum (CGF) and co-sponsor of the CGF Health and Wellness pillar.

Age: 57

Nationality: Dutch


July 2018 – now        President and CEO Ahold Delhaize

2016 - June 2018      Deputy CEO & Chief Integration Officer

2013 - 2016                President & CEO Delhaize Group 

2006 - 2013              Member Management Board Metro Group AG and CEO Metro Cash & Carry

2005 - 2006            CEO Metro Group Buying & General Manager Metro AG

2002 - 2005            Member Executive Board of Directors Metro Cash & Carry International

1998 - 2002               Management positions Makro Cash & Carry

1988 - 1997                  Management and executive positions KLM Cargo

Board Memberships

Current            Board of Directors Consumer Goods Forum (CGF), co-sponsor CGF Health and Wellness Pillar

Current            President European Retail Round Table

Current            Board of Directors Food Marketing Institute Inc.

Current            Board of Directors Vlerick Business School