Last Refreshed: 7/23/2021 10:00:00 PM
Press release

Ahold announces new executive leadership structure and the appointment of a new Chief Commercial Officer (CCO)

Zaandam, The Netherlands – Ahold today announced a new Executive Committee (ExCo) leadership structure, which will enable the company to accelerate its Reshaping Retail strategy. The new ExCo will simplify the company’s governance structure and decision-making process, and ensure that the company’s business and functional leaders are represented at the highest level.

Joining Ahold to become part of the seven-strong Executive Committee is Hanneke Faber as Chief Commercial Officer (CCO). Hanneke, reporting to CEO Dick Boer, joins Ahold from Procter & Gamble, where she worked in various senior general management and marketing roles in the United States, Switzerland, Greece and the Netherlands. She brings years of global experience in innovation, strategy, customer insights and leading international brands to Ahold. In her new role as CCO, Hanneke will be leading all global online and customer loyalty initiatives.

The other members of the Executive Committee and their responsibilities are:

  • Chief Executive Officer Dick Boer: overall Reshaping Retail strategy, communications, external relations
  • Chief Financial Officer Jeff Carr: finance, information management, real estate, simplicity
  • Chief Corporate Governance Counsel Lodewijk Hijmans van den Bergh: legal & compliance, mergers & acquisitions, responsible retailing
  • Chief Operating Officer Ahold USA James McCann: business operations, continental strategy
  • Chief Operating Officer Ahold Europe Sander van der Laan: business operations, continental strategy
  • Chief Human Resources Officer: HR, leadership, organizational design

“Following the development and implementation of Reshaping Retail, Ahold is now at a point to adjust its leadership structure in a way that will best drive and support our growth phase,” said CEO Dick Boer. “Furthermore, I am delighted that we have Hanneke joining our company. Coming from a world-class marketing organization, she will provide us with key insights in leading online and customer loyalty initiatives going forward.”

The members of the Executive Committee will officially take up their roles starting September 1, 2013.