The Supervisory Board is responsible for advising our Management Board and for overseeing the general affairs, strategy and operational performance of the company.

The Supervisory Board is guided by the interests of the company and our stakeholders. It is also responsible for monitoring and assessing its own performance.

Duties and responsibilities

Our Articles of Association require the approval of the Supervisory Board for certain major resolutions proposed by the Management Board.

The Supervisory Board can make a proposal to the General Meeting of Shareholders to appoint, suspend, or dismiss a Management Board member.

Appointing members

A Supervisory Board member is appointed for a four-year term and is eligible for reappointment but may not serve for more than 12 years.

The General Meeting of shareholders can appoint, suspend or dismiss a Supervisory Board member by an absolute majority of votes cast, upon a proposal made by the Supervisory Board.


The Supervisory Board has four committees:

  • Audit, Finance and Risk Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
  • Governance and Nomination Committee
  • Sustainability and Innovation Committee